Sick pay accrual begins Saturday, July 1, 2017 for ALL full and part time employees in Arizona. For Flagstaff employees, July 1st also marks a 50 cent increase to the minimum wage from $10.00 to $10.50 per hour.
My office offers payroll services to local businesses that will keep you in compliance with local, state and federal payroll laws.
MINIMUM WAGE Increase Modified: Flagstaff City Council voted March 21, 2017 to amend Proposition 414, passed by Flagstaff voters in the November 2016 election, delaying full implementation of the minimum wage increase. All Flagstaff employees must be paid at least $10.50/hour beginning July 1st, 2017.
Originally tied to the State of Arizona’s Minimum Wage, Proposition 414 passed by voters required Flagstaff employers to pay their employees at least $2 more than the minimum wage in effect at the state level. The state minimum wage was increased in January to $10/hour and Flagstaff’s minimum wage law increase has an implementation date of July 1, 2017.
Kulvinder Kaur Dhew. ‘Requiem for passage.’ Charcoal on paper. 38 x 50 in.
Bruce Dehnert and Kulvinder Kaur Dhew of Peter’s Valley, New Jersey, join local artists Tom Alexander, Louise Hublitz, Christian Marcum, Marsha Owen, Carleton Sheppard and Mui-Joo Wee to bring us an artistic feast for our tired, winter eyes. Ceramics, drawings, paintings, photography and note cards will be on view and for sale during the Art Exhibition & Open House Thursday, March 9 – Sunday, March 12.
My Flagstaff CPA office is pleased to host a talented group of artists for this POP UP art exhibition & open house. The opening reception is Thursday, March 9, 3-7 pm at my office: 1600 W University Ave, Suite 206. The show continues Friday, March 10, 3-6 pm, Saturday, March 11, noon-4 pm and Sunday, March 12, noon-4 pm.
The Flagstaff City Council will meet on February 14th, 6:00 pm, for a special meeting to consider Proposition 414 options. This controversial, voter-approved minimum wage increase (staged increase to $15/hour) has created division in our Flagstaff community.
For a discussion of the options on the table, take a look at the AZ Daily Sun’s write-up January 15, 2017: http://azdailysun.com/news/local/govt-and-politics/three-groups-battle-over-new-flagstaff-minimum-wage/article_1537f5db-2163-5b24-b78f-c0137cfc8d49.html
If you have any questions regarding how this law might affect your business and payroll requirements, please call my Flagstaff CPA office at 928-774-0440.
Propositions (AZ) 206 and (Flagstaff) 414 were passed by voters on November 8th, 2016.
AZ Proposition 206 phases in minimum wage hikes beginning January 1, 2017 to $10/hour through January 1, 2020 to $12/hour. The proposition also added a mandatory paid sick time policy to employment law for all Arizona employees which goes into effect July 1, 2017.
Flagstaff Proposition 414 pegs increases in the minimum wage for Flagstaff employees to $2/hour greater than the AZ minimum wage beginning July 1, 2017 and phasing in over 4 years to $15/hour.
For a consulting appointment to discuss how these new Arizona & Flagstaff laws will affect your business, call me at 928-774-0440.